Rafael Aregger Placed

Rafael_Aregger

Nationality:
Date of birth:
Year of grad:
GPA:

Swiss
27-09-1990
2009
3.1

 

Available Fall 2011

 play-video

TOEFL:
SAT: CR
SAT: M
SAT: W

107
550
640
580

State/Province: Luzern
Country: Switzerland
Phone: available upon request
Height: 6 ft
Weight: 145 lbs
Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
High School: Gymnasium of Beromünster

Personal Information

My name is Rafael Aregger and I am a 20-year-old student athlete. I grew up in a small village called Hildisrieden in the middle of Switzerland. During my childhood I would always play lots of sports. At the age of five I started playing soccer in a team. This was a good sport for me because it taught me important attributes like team spirit and companionship. When I was nine I stopped playing in the team and picked up tennis. I quickly improved and soon I began playing competitively. Tennis taught me competitive toughness and a good hand-eye-coordination. Moreover I could collect my first experiences of playing competitive sports there. At the age of 13 a good friend of mine introduced me to the game of golf. I immediately fell in love with the game. At this point I stopped playing tennis although I still like to play every now and then. My love for sports had a great influence on my lifestyle as a whole. During my teenage years I would rather play tennis than go out and party on Friday evenings. In my spare time I still do a lot of different sports such as tennis, squash, badminton, soccer, running, skiing and swimming.

I would describe myself as a perfectionist. When I work on something I want to do it right. Because of that, sometimes I lose myself "in the zone" and I end up forgetting the world around me. The positive effect of this is that I seem to be very good at things that are important to me. On the other side I can get quite hard on myself when something doesn’t work right away. But that only makes me working harder to achieve my goal.

Athletic Information

I started playing golf at the age of 13. Compared to some of the players I’m now playing against this might seem too late. My advantage was that my home was very close to the golf course and that I was good at studying for exams. I was able to play almost every day after school, which helped me a lot to improve quickly. After four years of playing I reached a single figure handicap. This was the point where I decided that I wanted to reach a top level in golf. Because I was already seventeen I knew I had to practice with a better plan and more efficiently in order to improve even faster. The planning paid off: Within one year I reached handicap 4.3 and after two more years (2008/2009) I got down to handicap 0 (Scratch). After I graduated from school in spring 2009 I decided with my family to take two years off to work on my game and get better. I played some great tournaments in the end of 2009. Within four weeks I won the club championship (my home-club is Golf Sempachersee which is the biggest club in Switzerland), the club championship U21 and the ASG Central Suisse Championship 2009. For these three tournaments (6 rounds) I was a total 8 under par. The victory in the ASG Central Suisse Championship (5 under par) is my biggest win so far because all the best players of Switzerland participated in this tournament. After this victory I went to Florida for the winter season. I was a postgraduate student at Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy for one month in January. There I learned a lot about how to swing a golf club properly. Therefore I committed to change my swing so that it would work more consistently in the future. This decision made the 2010 season a tough one for me. Sometimes the changes made me feel uncomfortable on the golf course. I was lacking consistency. Nevertheless I played some great rounds and was leader in the early stages of some big tournaments (ASG Swiss National Championship, ASG Championnat de Leman, ASG Innerschweizer Amateur Championship). This made me feel that I was on the right way. I just needed to keep working hard. As the season went on I was playing better and I am really happy with the progress my swing has made. My current handicap is +0.4.

At the moment I am practicing again at Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy to prepare for the 2011 season (from November 2010 to April 2011). This is the perfect place for me to improve because I am able to practice with experienced coaches, get mental training weekly and fitness training everyday. I am very happy with how much stronger I got, physically as well as mentally.

My biggest strengths are my iron game (ball striking) and my short game (chipping/pitching/bunker). I usually hit a lot of greens and most of the time I’m able to chip/pitch it close if I miss them. The part of my game where I struggle the most is putting. Thus my biggest goal for this winter is to improve my putting. At Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy we work a lot on fundamentals and technique. This helped me to make a huge progress in putting. Looking ahead I feel great about the 2011 season because if my ball striking and putting start to work together it should improve my scoring a lot.

Academic Information

I went to primary school in Hildisrieden (canton of Lucerne), Switzerland from August 1997 to June 2003. My grades there were good allowing me to transfer to the Gymnasium of Beromünster. I started there on 18 August 2003 and graduated on 24 June 2009. The degree I earned there is called “eidgenössische Matura” and is the highest secondary education degree you can achieve in Switzerland. I passed every subject I took. This is something I’m proud of because it shows that I keep working hard even on things/subjects that I don’t particularly like.  I am fluent in German, English, French and I took Latin as my major subject.  To graduate from the Gymnasium everyone in Switzerland has to write a thesis. My topic in this thesis was about how sports in Switzerland are supported by the state and/or foundations. I learned a lot about the different structures of sport associations and the needs of a top class athletes.

Rafi has turned in all his documents at the NCAA Clearinghouse and is waiting to be cleared any day, making him eligible to compete in NCAA and NAIA divisions.

Back